Gluten Free Food List: 200+ Safe Foods!

//Gluten Free Food List: 200+ Safe Foods!

Gluten Free Food List: 200+ Safe Foods!

This post contains affiliate links. All information in this post is based on my personal experiences and research. Please discuss any changes to your diet with your doctor or nutritionist. No information in this article is meant to replace medical advice. Please read the disclosures and disclaimers. Thank you!

Starting a gluten free lifestyle can be overwhelming because after scrutinizing your diet, you may find that many of your favorite and go-to foods contain gluten. You could take the easy route…. Eating expensive gluten free highly processed alternatives, like pasta, pizza, snack foods, etc. Or, you could transition to a healthy eating plan! There are over 240 foods on this gluten free food list and more than 95% of them are healthy!

Fruits & Vegetables

Unprocessed (like an apple from a tree) or slightly processed (like an apple at the grocery store which has a wax coating) fruit and vegetables are all gluten free. Fruits make great healthy snacks for kids and grownups.

Plain frozen fruits and vegetables (remember to check the ingredients) usually don’t contain any gluten. These can be used on oatmeal, in smoothies, blended to make a sorbet or steamed with olive oil and salt!

Canned fruits and vegetables are also generally gluten free, unless they are in sauce, and may contain hidden gluten.

Dried and freeze-dried fruits and veggies are easy snacks to take with you on the go.

Gluten free fruit in their natural form:

Apples (all varieties)
Apricot
Avocado
Banana
Blackberries
Blueberries
Boysenberries
Cherries
Coconut
Cranberries
Cucumber
Dates

Dragonfruit
Elderberries
Figs
Goji Berries
Grapes and Raisins
Grapefruit
Guava
Honeyberries
Huckleberries
Jackfruit
Kiwis

Kumquat
Lemon
Lime
Lychee
Mango
Nectarine
Olives
Oranges (all varieties)
Papaya
Passionfruit
Peach

Pear
Persimmon
Plantain
Plums & prunes
Pineapples
Pluots
Pomegranate
Raspberry
Star Fruit
Strawberries
Watermelon

Vegetables in their natural form:

Artichoke
Aubergine (Eggplant)
Asparagus
Beans & Legumes: Alfalfa sprouts, Azuki (or adzuki) beans, Bean sprouts, Black beans, Black-eyed peas, Borlotti bean, Broad beans, Chickpeas, Green beans, Kidney beans, Lentils, Lima (or butter) beans, Mung beans, Navy beans, Pinto beans, Runner beans, Split peas, Soy beans, Peas, Snap peas
Beets
Broccoli
Brussel sprouts
Cabbage (and Kohlrabi)
Carrot
Cauliflower
Celery
Cucumber
Endive
Fennel

Greens: Beet greens (chard), Bok choy, Collard greens, Kale, Mustard greens, Spinach
Lettuce
Mushrooms
Okra
Onions: Chives, Garlic, Leeks, Shallots, Scallions
Parsnip
Peppers: Bell and Chili
Radicchio
Rhubarb
Rutabaga
Radishes
Squash: Acorn, Butternut, Banana, Zucchini (Courgette – UK), Delicata, Gem, Hubbard, Patty Pans, Pumpkins, Spaghetti squash
Sweet corn
Tubers: Jicama, Potato, Sweet Potato, Yam
Tat Soi
Tomato
Turnips
Watercress

Your diet is a bank account. Good food choices are good investments. ~Bethenny Frankel

Herbs & Spices

To me, there’s nothing better than the smell of a basil plant. I would rather a bouquet of basil than a bouquet of flowers!

But anyway, all fresh herbs and spices are gluten free. Spicely Spices  (I found them on Amazon)  are all certified organic and gluten free. Although inherently spices are gluten free, many other companies cannot guarantee that their products are not cross-contaminated.

Another product to be cautious of is spice blends, like fajita mixes and blended salts. Magic Seasonings has some great blends labeled gluten free, also sold on Amazon.  Look for ingredients like modified food starch, maltodextrin, malt & wheat flour.

Anise
Basil
Caraway
Cilantro
Chamomile
Dill
Fennel
Ginger

Lavender
Lemon grass
Marjoram
Oregano
Parsley
Rosemary
Sage
Thyme

Grains

Just because wheat is “off the table”, this doesn’t mean that all grains are taboo. Grains should be used in moderation. Gluten free grains like rice and quinoa make excellent side dishes.

All of these grains can be ground into flour and used in baking. These grains behave differently, though, from wheat and will need some trial and error as you get more accustomed to baking with them.

Amaranth
Buckwheat (it is a grass, even though it has “wheat” in its name!)
Corn flour & Masa flour
Millet
Montina (Indian rice grass)

Oats (Oats are inherently gluten free, but are very often cross contaminated. If you have Celiac, you should verify that your oats are “Certified Gluten Free” before using them.)
Quinoa
Rice, Wild Rice
Sorghum
Teff

Nuts & Seeds

Generally, nuts and seeds are great sources of protein, fats and fibre. A small serving (the size of a golf ball) goes a long way in keeping you full. Different nuts and seeds provide unique combinations of minerals and vitamins to contribute to your well-being!

Nuts and seeds by themselves, straight out of a shell, are all inherently gluten free. If you are buying pre-shelled nuts and seeds, then check the ingredients and the disclaimer for being processed on shared equipment.

They are easy to keep in your purse, diaper bag, or your office desk drawer to have a healthy snack during your day!

Nuts in their natural form:

Almond – Blanched Almond, Chinese Almond, Earth Almond, Florida Almond, Java Almond, Sliced Almonds, Slivered Almonds, Sweet Almond
Australian Nut
Beech Nut, Indian Beech Nut
Brazil Nut
Butternut
Candlenut
Cashew

Chestnut – Chinese Chestnut, Horned Water Chestnut, Malabar Chestnut, Polynesian Chestnut, Sweet Chestnut
Cobnut
Cream Nut
Earth Nut
Filbert
Gingko Nut
Hazelnut
Heartnut
Hickory Nut, Shagbark Hickory
Indian Nut
Jesuit Nut
Juniper Berry
Macadamia
Maya Nut

Oak Acorn
Peanuts
Pecan
Pine Nut
Pinyon
Pistachio
Queensland Nut
Tiger Nut
White Nut
Walnuts – Black Walnut, Country Walnut, English Walnut, Japanese Walnut, Persian Walnut, Royal Walnut, White Walnut

Seeds in their natural form:

Chia Seeds
Flaxseeds
Hemp Seeds
Poppy Seeds
Pumpkin Seeds
Sesame Seeds
Safflower Seeds
Sunflower Seeds

Cut Fresh Meat without additional flavors or toppings

My recommendation for healthy eating is to use meat sparingly, as a flavoring, instead of a main part of a meal.

With that being said, meats that haven’t been “doctored” from the grocery store are generally safe. Avoid anything breaded, marinated in soy sauce, cooked with a sauce, or in broth. You can marinate your own meat in tamari (gluten free) to get a similar flavor.

Other prepared meats, like hamburgers or hot dogs will need to be checked for gluten. Deli meats can be gluten free, but can also be cross-contaminated when they slice it. If you have Celiac disease, you should probably avoid deli meats.

Beef (Grass-fed preferable)
Chicken
Eggs
Fish
Lamb
Turkey
Pork
Rabbit
Venison

Dairy Products: Preferably from grass-fed cows (Eggs are not dairy)

Milk in its natural form is gluten free, and so are many of the products made from milk. As listed below, always check the ingredients when you are starting on your gluten free journey until you know what products and flavors are safe to eat. Anything that is labeled as “malted” will contain barley malt, and therefore gluten.

Due to damage that gluten can cause in your intestines, you may or may not have some lactose intolerance issues as well. Cutting down on dairy until your body heals is suggested.

Milk (plain) – Must check flavored milk ingredients
Butter & Ghee (plain)
Cheese – Must check shredded cheese ingredients
Cream (plain)
Cottage Cheese (plain)
Sour Cream (plain)
Yogurt (plain) – Must check flavored yogurt ingredients

Cooking Oils

I typically use olive oil, avocado oil, and sesame oil. The avocado oil has a higher smoke point (500 degrees) and works well when sauteing veggies. On steamed veggies, I use olive oil and salt as a flavoring. Currently I use sesame oil in all my baking, because it has a nice light flavor and isn’t really that noticeable.

Olive Oil
Avocado Oil
Coconut Oil
Sunflower Oil
Canola Oil
Sesame Oil

Beverages

Water
100% Juice
Almond “milk”, Coconut “milk”, Soymilk, Flaxseed “milk”, Cashew “milk”
Coffee (check your mix-ins before adding to your coffee)
Tea
Some alcoholic beverages – Many beers, wines and liquors are labeled now if they are gluten free. If it’s not labeled, check the company’s website.
Clear Sodas (Sometimes colas have caramel color in them, which can have gluten)

Miscellaneous

Tamari (substitute for soy sauce)
Vinegar: Apple Cider Vinegar, Distilled Vinegar, White Vinegar
Baking Powder
Baking Soda
Xanthan Gum
Sugar, Brown Sugar
Honey
Maple Syrup
Pure cocoa powder
Tapioca flour
Corn starch
Potato starch
Salt & pepper
Molasses
Peanut Butter
Applesauce
Salsa (Check ingredients)
Ketchup & mustard (Check ingredients)
Mayonnaise (Check ingredients)
Spaghetti sauce (Check ingredients)
Tortilla chips (Check ingredients)

So, there you have it! 240 gluten free foods! The possibility of combinations is endless!

Feel free to add more of your favorite gluten free foods in the comments below. If you have any questions, please let me know and I will answer them the best that I can!

By |2019-03-15T00:07:45-04:00February 13th, 2019|Going Gluten Free|0 Comments

About the Author:

Leave A Comment